The Batavia Foundation for Educational Excellence was established in 1985 under Superintendent Dr. Stephanie Marshall.  She talked with a fellow passenger on a flight and learned about an "educational foundation". She brought the idea back to Batavia and shared it with others.  She thought a school board member should be on the board, so Rosalie Jones-Link was appointed to serve.  Batavia was the sixth school district in the State of Illinois to form such a foundation.


Fundraising began in 1986 and over $170,000 was raised in just 18 months.


First Celebration

Over 75 Batavia residents attended an evening to honor donors instrumental in spearheading BFEE.  They had dinner at Aurora's North Island Center, and then attended a Gershwin concert at The Paramount.  They planned to hold an annual celebration honoring donors every Spring.


First Board Members

Kenneth Larson

Rosalie Jones

Peter Donat

Robert Becker

Richard Eckblade

Richard Hansen

Nathaniel Henderson

Dr. Stephanie Marshall

Helen Thelin

William Wood

Many of these wonderful people are still involved in our community and have made a significant impact on our schools.


Mini Grants

Mini grants were first awarded in 1991 to give teachers the opportunity to put exciting and innovative ideas into the classroom.  These programs could be short-term and have immediate impact in the classroom.


Since 1986

Thanks to the magnificent support of the community, BFEE has raised over $700,000 since the initial contribution of $50,000 in 1986.   

Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
Copyright (c) by the Batavia Foundation for Educational Excellence 2013 all rights reserved.